Crock Pot Salsa Chicken

I sometimes struggle to find meals that both my husband and I will enjoy.  I try to keep things healthy and he…well, he doesn’t prefer that.  But this Salsa Chicken recipe makes us BOTH happy.

photo 2 (7)

And the best part?  It’s SO EASY to make.  Start by dicing up an onion, green and red pepper and layering it on the bottom of your crock pot.

photo 1 (6)

Next add your chicken.  I like to use a combination of breasts and thighs.

photo 2 (6)

Next up, your seasoning and the salsa.  I use two jars of the Salsa Autentica from Trader Joe’s.  Don’t have a TJs near you?  No problem!  I’m also a big fan of Herdez, found in the Latin food aisle of most grocers.  (I also add salt and pepper!)

photo 3 (5)

And my secret ingredient…

photo (8)

This gives your chicken a smoky and spicy flavor.  If you don’t like spicy, then leave it out!

photo 4 (1)

Now we’re ready to roll.  Cook it on low for 7-8 hours and watch your house fill up with the most amazing aroma!!!!

When it’s time for dinner you pop open the lid and what you have is a thing of beauty.

photo (8)

I shred up the chicken and serve it over salad as “taco” salad for myself and JP has his in burrito form with lots of cheese.  Ya see?  We both are happy with this meal!

photo 5

I also sauteed up some peppers and onions to give it that extra fajita feel and added avocado.  Some crunched up tortilla chips are also amazing on here, however it’s not on my 21 Day Fix plan :-P!

We enjoyed our meal outside last night since it was the most perfect spring evening here in Atlanta.

photo 3 (6)

Doesn’t every meal taste better when eaten outdoors on a gorgeous night?  Give this recipe a try and let me know what you think!!

Salsa Chicken

Ingredients

1 yellow onion, diced

1 red and 1 green bell pepper, diced

1 package of chicken breasts

1 package of chicken thighs

2 jars of favorite salsa

1 can chipotle in adobo

Generous shakes of chili powder, cumin, garlic powder

Salt and pepper

Season with hot sauce

Directions

Layer your onion and peppers on the bottom of a crock pot, top with whole chicken pieces, generously season with spices, pour salsa and chipotle in adobo (juice included) over salsa.  NOTE: chop up the chili pieces on a plate before adding to the crock pot since they have some kick.

Cook on low for 7-8 hours and shred prior to serving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crock Pot Salsa Chicken

  1. Lee says:

    Fun to see you blogging again!

Leave a comment