37 Weeks – Full Term?

How far along: 37 weeks.  I thought I was officially full term which means that the baby can come any day now.  Although when  I did some “google research” on this I found that this is now a dated school of thought and full term is technically more like 39 weeks.  Whatevah.  I’m full term in my book :-).

IMG_2666

How big is baby:  This week our little guy is the size of a winter melon.  Ummm, what the hell is a winter melon?  Anyway, he’s ranging from 18.9-20.9 inches long and 6.2-9.2 lbs in weight. This week he’s practicing inhaling/exhaling, sucking, gripping, and blinking.  And he’s also getting his first poop ready (meconium).  Fun stuff!

Total weight gain: I was up another pound bringing me to around 19 lbs. My doctor is happy that I’m not gaining too fast and said that the baby keeps measuring on track, so to keep up what I’m doing.  That just meant more pizza this weekend ;-).  Of course that also means keeping up my daily walks and weekend workouts too, but the pizza is the fun part.

Maternity clothes/pregnancy items bought: JP and I realized that while our hospital bag list is made, we should probably pack the damn thing.  So yesterday I went over to Target to pick up some last minute stuff to have in the bag and around the house (some travel toiletries, snacks for the hospital, gatorade/cocount water for labor, and nursing tanks/bras).  Target only had XS and XLs so I placed an order online at target.com and I’m crossing my fingers that baby Canner stays put until my package arrives.

Sleep:  For 36 weeks I’ve had great sleep.  I knew it was too good to be true.  Sure, I’m mostly sleeping through the night, but my hips and pelvis are killing me.  I wake up to pee in excruciating pain and it’s very hard for me to role out of bed.  For feeling super nimble during the day, there’s something about getting out of bed that’s so hard.  This morning I got up too quickly and I heard 3 loud cracks from my pelvis area.  Ummm, that can’t be good, right?  :-/

Best moment of the week:  JP had to work most of the day yesterday, but afterwards we were able to have some family downtime on the couch while he napped and I watched my “shit tv.”

IMG_2665

Even Remy is a big fan of the Housewives!  Afterwards we went out for some Asian Fusion in the “hopping” suburbs of Gwinnett County.  We drove up to Duluth and checked out a restaurant called Pearl Lian.  The food was absolutely yummy and we had a good laugh over me barely being able to squeeze into the booth.  We realized that this might be our last date night for a very long time and that we’ll probably be saying this every single time we go out over the next month while waiting for the baby to arrive.

Food cravings:  This weekend I packed them all in…pizza, Asian food, and french toast.  On Friday afternoon I texted JP saying that I NEEDED pizza that night.  No question about it.  It totally hit the spot.  I was ready to go for round two on Saturday, but figured a change-up would be a good thing.

Symptoms:  Lots of Braxton Hicks still that are a bit more intense and tons of pelvic/groin pain.  It takes me a good few minutes to walk normally now after standing up.  Yup, I’ve got the pregnancy waddle going on!

Movement:  Lots more movement lately!  While at my doctor’s appointment he was squirming all over the place which had us both laughing.  The doppler was filled with noise.  Busy guy!  I had a dream last night that he was able to hold onto my finger from inside my tummy.  It sounds strange now, but I loved it at the time!

Exercise: Walking and workout dvds are about all I’m doing these days.  And of course going on walks with Miss Pupperina.

IMG_2647

Autumn has finally hit Georgia!

What I’m looking forward to:  JP’s birthday is this Wednesday and for the next 3 months we’ll be the same age. This is the one time of the year he can’t tell me I’m old ;-).  I’m also taking him out for dinner next Saturday which should be fun!  Sure, he has his “DD” but at this point even he can’t drink much since he’s technically on-call.  Poor guy.

What I miss:  Running, running, running.  I’ll shut up now.

Next appt: Friday!  I’m onto weekly appointments now.

Remy just loves to sit on our old couch and stare out the window.

IMG_2667She usually retires there if she’s not getting enough attention from us.

IMG_2669How sweet is she?  Ok, I’m off to hug and kiss her now.  Have a great week! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 37 Weeks – Full Term?

  1. I totally feel you on the getting out of bed part… why does it have to be so difficult!? I wish I had a bed that pushed me into the upright position! I’m sure its only going to get harder too, but we are almost there 😉 you look great!

Leave a Reply

