36 Weeks – Nesting

How far along: 36 weeks.  1 week from full term!!

IMG_2635

Compared to last week I can’t tell if I’ve my belly has grown much or just completely shifted.

IMG_2576

How big is baby:  This week our little guy is the size of a honeydew melon.  He’s ranging from 17.2-18.7 inches long and 4.2-5.8 lbs in weight.  He’s getting closer to breathing on his own at this point, his skin is getting nice and smooth, his liver and kidneys are in working order, and his circulation and immune system are also nice and strong.

Total weight gain: I’ll find out more at my 37 week appointment on Thursday!

Maternity clothes/pregnancy items bought: The wallet has stayed in the pocket this week, although I have a ton of new things thanks to the generosity of others!  My boss and his wife have a 2 year old boy and they gave me their swing, Bob jogger (to borrow, but still uh-mazing!!!), and a whole lotta clothing.  I can’t even express how grateful I am for this.  This is a huge savings for us!!!  This week JP and I started washing all of the babies clothes and putting them away in the drawers and closet.  This kid has more clothes than me at this point.  Not kidding.

Sleep:  I’m still sleeping perfectly through the night and have managed to deal with my hip pain by placing a pillow between my knees.  Works like a charm!

Best moment of the week:  My bf Manasi came into town last night!!  JP and I picked her up at the ATL airport and right now she’s enjoying some baby free sleep.  So is my husband for that matter, yet he doesn’t have a baby yet.  I’m excited to show her around our town and hopefully get to do some Atlanta-y things if we have time.  But I do think some Southern food is in order for this evening.  Time to break out the stretchy pants…oh wait, that’s all I wear now.

Also, yesterday we booked our Doula and she came to the house for our 36 appointment.  She is now officially on call for us from here on out.  I’m really excited that we both feel comfortable with her and can tell that she’ll be an awesome addition to our birth team!  Remy also approves since she didn’t leave her alone for the entire time she was here.  Thankfully she’s a crazy dog person like us or else I don’t think this partnership would work out so well.

Food cravings:  I wouldn’t say I’ve been having a craving for chili, but we did meet up with our friends Jason and Lee at the Chomp and Stomp Chili Fest yesterday.   It was a lot of fun despite the crazy crowds!

IMG_2639

The weather was absolutely gorgeous.  It felt like a summer day.  Perhaps a little too warm for chili, but that didn’t stop me from digging in!

IMG_2637

We also had some fun sightings at the festival which included this awesome Back to the Future trio.

IMG_2644

At first I was horrified that someone would dress up as a terrorist at a festival, but then I realized he was dressing up as a Libian to go with the movie theme.  I guess technically that’s still a terrorist, but I appreciated the accuracy of the movie reference and I think they appreciated that I knew this.  So props to them!

And of course the BEST sighting of the day (don’t tell Remy, she’ll get jealous).

IMG_2645

It’s hard work being such a cute puppy!!

Symptoms:  The usual Braxton Hicks, occasional exhaustion, having to pee on a 45 minute rotation, etc.  Ya know, the usual.

Movement:  I think he’s making up for lost time since he is moving and shaking in there!!

Exercise: I have discovered that walking helps immensely with my exhaustion and body aches.  The days I go on walks I’m significantly better than the days I do not.  I also sit at a desk all day which can’t help, so getting up and moving for an hour at lunchtime is so key!! It also lifts my spirits just to get outside and chat with my friend.  I’m proud that I’m still trucking along at 36 weeks for 4 miles a pop.  Yes, I move a bit slower, but I’m still moving.

What I’m looking forward to:  The baby getting his butt here!  It could be any day now and while I don’t think that JP and I are ready for him to show up unless there’s a December in the date, I’m still so fricken excited to meet him!!!

What I miss:  My brisk, fall runs.  I look at the baby jogger and think next year at this time I’ll be out there with the little guy and that gets me exicted.

Next appt: This Thursday for my 37 week check-up.

This morning I had to drop off Remy at the groomers.  Worst way to start a Sunday with those sad puppy eyes staring at me to take her home.  I can’t wait to pick her up when she’s all clean and fluffy though!

IMG_2618

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 36 Weeks – Nesting

  1. Manasi says:

    Thanks for having me!! You look great and I had such a good time. The baby-free sleep did help! And whoa! Mentioned in 2 blog posts! I feel honored…

Leave a Reply

