31 & 32 Weeks – Baby Shower!

I feel like so much has happened in the past 2 weeks that this might be a long one.  I apologize in advance for the photo bombing.  My baby shower was so awesome (but more on that later)!!

IMG_2439

How far along:

Here I am at 31 weeks…

IMG_2433

And 32 weeks…

IMG_2473

It’s crazy how fast I’m growing week by week at this point.  I put on a sundress that I was able to wear a few weeks ago and it looked absolutely ridiculous on me.  I’m finding the more fitted the clothing, the better I look.  Otherwise I’m wearing a mumu.

I was also told by a male coworker who shall remain nameless that I looked rather larger for being due December 1st.  Yeah.

How big is baby:  Last week he was the size of a pineapple and now he’s the size of a squash.  He’s measuring 15.2 – 16.7 inches long and weighing in somewhere between 2.5 – 3.8 lbs.  Supposedly this is when the baby is starting to turn into the head down position, however I’m fairly certain he’s laying horizontally across my abdomen still.  Last weekend I went to get a 3D ultrasound and that’s how he was laying then.  Speaking of which, check out these creepy pics of my little chubster:

IMG_2430

It’s official, he’s JP’s clone.  In the bottom picture he looks exactly like my nephew Liam as a baby.  Those Canner genes are dominant.  I never stood a chance!  At least JP can’t doubt his paternity ;-).

Total weight gain: I was up another 3 lbs at the doc this week totaling in at 15lbs (17 according to me).  I’m now averaging a 1 lb/week weight gain which is pretty normal for the 3rd tri.

Maternity clothes/pregnancy items bought: I haven’t bought a thing but got a TON of amazing gifts from my shower.  I feel so lucky to have so many generous friends and family members!!

And JP has been hard at work on the nursery.  Last weekend while I was gone he put up crown molding and this weekend he’s working on the chair rail and shadow boxes.

IMG_2474

You can’t tell much from this picture, but it is coming along soooo nicely!!  I always knew he was handy but never got to see it put to the test very often since we haven’t owned a home.  I’m excited to see the finished product!!

Sleep:  Still going great except for waking up constantly to go to the bathroom and the sore hips.  Ouch.

Best moment of the week:  Let’s start with the best moment this week…going to my first playoff baseball game.  

IMG_2466

Well, it started off great.  Perhaps going to a game at 32 weeks pregnant in 80 degree heat wasn’t my best idea.  I went from feeling great to not feeling great in the matter of 5 minutes.  But anyway, here we are pre downhill:

IMG_2470

Once the heat set in around the 6th inning I retreated to the souvenir shop and stood under an air conditioning vent for about 20 minutes.  We left in the bottom of the 7th despite it being an awesome game and had JP fanning me with my dad’s souvenir playbook on the 20-30 minute MARTA ride back to our car as I felt like I was going to throw up.  Good times.  But the Braves won and we got to experience a playoff game at Turner Field which was awesome!

And last week’s highlight was obviously my baby shower.  I could go on and on about how awesome it was to see people I hadn’t seen in a while, but I’ll let some pics speak for themselves.  And an extra special thanks to my mom and sister for throwing it for me.  They outdid themselves!!

IMG_7602

IMG_7595

IMG_7592

IMG_7590 IMG_7588

IMG_7593

And lastly my sister with our gift to us…a drawing for the nursery.  We’re making the baby’s nursery Boston themed and JP and I have always wanted a cool piece of artwork to put up in there.  We both loved the retro Dunkin Donuts sign that used to be up on Market St. in Brighton, however it was torn down recently.  Instead of hunting endlessly for a replica of it and paying a fortune for someone else’s art, we figured we would commission my sister to do it.

IMG_2432

She is super talented in all areas I am not (sports, music, writing, and of course drawing).  I will admit that the fact that she can’t do simple math does make me feel a bit better about myself ;-).  Anyway, she did an amazing job!!

IMG_7616

Your nephew will love it doods!!!

Food cravings: A new one this week has been the egg and cheese sandwich.  I of course had to get one on a bagel while in NY.

IMG_2442

As well as with spicy chicken from Chick Fil A thanks to our free breakfast Fridays at work.

IMG_2458

However I did get an amazingly healthy home-cooked meal courtesy of my sister while home.  Salmon with veggies, mmm.

IMG_2431

I also said I would start to lay off the sugar but then this happened:

IMG_2479

That, my friends, would be a deep fried brownie.  WOW!  I don’t even know where to begin with explaining this decadent creation.  The reason THIS happened was because of the Norcross Art Fest this weekend.

IMG_2476

There were a ton of art and food vendors that brought out a ton of people to our town.

IMG_2482 IMG_2483

There are also lots of fun activities for kids so we have no doubt that we’ll be back year after year with our little guy even if next year it’s just in a stroller.

Symptoms: Nothing too new this week aside from the usual braxton hicks, occasional round ligament pain, exhaustion, some swelling courtesy of a HOT baseball game.  Otherwise still feeling really good!

Movement: His movements have been pretty standard this week except for a giant shift inside of me that led me to actually scream.  It was the most bizarre sensation I’ve ever felt in my life.  He completely shifted inside of me while I was laying in bed and led me to hope he dropped head down, but I still feel him across my belly.  Stubborn lil guy!

Exercise:  Still going strong with my walks and exercise DVDs.  Although now I’m starting to daydream about running.  I have a few friends who ran a half marathon this morning in Atlanta and I’m thinking maybe next year?  We shall see!

What I’m looking forward to: The nursery being done so that we can put away all of our boy’s gifts!  I’m feeling a strong urge to decorate but unfortunately can’t do anything until the nursery is done.  I’m also looking forward to cooler weather and it actually feeling like fall!

What I miss:  The usual…running, my own tummy time, wine, wearing cute clothes that aren’t maternity.

Next appt:  My doctor said that I don’t need to come back for another 3 weeks, which reminds me that I have to book the appointment.  Whoops!

And here are two cute pics of Remy for the two weeks I’m blogging about.

The other morning at work I get a text from JP saying that he can’t make the bed due to a snoring puppy who was already cozied into it for the day.

IMG_2452

My heart melted just a little bit.

And our little sunbather on her afternoon walk.

IMG_2461

Suburban life is rough!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 31 & 32 Weeks – Baby Shower!

  1. ROBBBB DAWG says:

    HAHAHA So FUN doods! Good job! Loved this one! <3<3<3

  2. I love the dress you wore to your baby shower!! Where did you get it??

    You look great 🙂

    • pspring55 says:

      Thanks so much Kelly! I got it from Destination Maternity and it’s part of the Jessica Simpson line. It’s also super comfortable. I might as well be wearing a nightgown :-).

Leave a Reply

