24 Weeks – 6 Months!

How far along: 24 weeks!  I’m having a hard time believing I’ve made it to 6 months.  That just sounds so far along.  Although once I remind myself that I have to go until 10 months, it doesn’t sound so far anymore.

24 WeeksFront aerial shot:

Belly front

How big is baby:  At 24 weeks our little guy is the size of a cantaloupe.  He’s ranging anywhere from 10.5- 11.8 inches long and 12.7-20.8 ounces in weight (this range has not changed since last week but I’m guessing he’s on the upper end since he was 13 oz. at my 20 week checkup).  His kicks are getting much strong this week and his skin is getting more pink and opaque.  It’s been fun to feel him kicking with much more gusto, especially when I’m at my desk at work.

Total weight gain:  I’ll be getting a more definitely idea of this on Friday at my 24 week OB appointment.

Maternity clothes/pregnancy items bought:  Thanks to the combination of JP’s parents coming into town and it being tax free weekend here in Georgia, my mother in-law and I made a trip up to the Perimeter Mall to visit Destination Maternity.  There’s nothing my mother in-law loves more than shopping.  And for anyone who knows me, there’s nothing I love less.  I don’t know where I came from.  JP is grateful for this.

Between the two of us we managed to pick out some cute new clothes for me!  I got 2 new work dresses (one of which I’m debating wearing to my shower), 2 work tops to go with my maternity trousers I have yet to wear, 2 long sleeve cotton shirts for casual wear and cooler temps, and I also got new shoes.  All in all a successful mall trip.  Thanks mom!

Sleep:  While I’m sleeping really well, I’m not finding myself waking up with hip pain in the middle of the night.  It might be time for that body pillow!

Best moment of the week: Having visitors was definitely a highlight!  My in-laws came into town Friday late afternoon and we went out for pizza at Fellini’s.  Saturday was spent packing, packing, packing.  And I wasn’t doing any of it which was even better.  JP and my father in-law got SO MUCH done while my mother in-law and I hit up the mall.  When we got back, after a quick lunch, I proceeded to take a 2 hour nap.  I like having helpful visitors!

Saturday night we out for dinner at Rosebud which was super yummy.  And this morning they headed back to North Myrtle Beach.

After they left I snuck in an hour of pool time after food shopping (last time at the pool :-() and JP, Remy and I grabbed some drinks al fresco at The Marlay House.  He got 2 yummy beers and I got a fun, tropical mocktail.  On a hot day like today I actually preferred to go sans alcohol.  Remy got ice water and some french fries from the sweet waitress.  In Remy’s own words, “Best Day Ever Guys!”

Food cravings:  Nothing too new here.  I’ve been loving a new spicy pico de gallo purchase from Publix my coworker told me about.  I think I put it on everything last week.  I’m wondering if my affinity for spicy food will stick around after pregnancy or if it’s just my husband’s spawn taking over my cravings.

Food aversions:  Still none and doubt this will change.

Symptoms:  Lots of nighttime leg cramps!  I found myself waking up several times to charley horses the other night.  And the urge to pee is so bad and keeps getting stronger.  Literally 5 minutes after going to the bathroom I feel like I have to go again.  Otherwise I’ve been pretty symptom free.  No nausea, indigestion, headaches, abnormal exhaustion…I’m a lucky girl!

Movement:  Lots of it!  I find when I put my hand on my stomach I’ll get a little kick and if I push back I’ll get more.  We’re getting to know each other :-).  He also likes it when I sing in the car.  I get tons of punches then.  Actually, HEY!  😛

Exercise:  I’m sticking to the usual workouts.  Yesterday (Saturday) I got in one of the best jogs I’ve had in a long time.  I get frustrated when I start to cramp up and have to stop, but there’s no way to push through this, nor should I.  So I take a TON of walking breaks.

This morning I did a 10 minutes warm-up jog outside, followed by 35 minutes of interval weight lifting, and a 10 minute outdoor cool-down walk.

What a gorgeous morning despite the heavy humidity!

Early WorkoutThe two of us are really going to miss our workouts in Morningside/Virgina Highland.

belly walkLast weekend workout in this neighborhood.  Which brings me to the next topic…

What I’m looking forward to:  Moving into our new house on Saturday!!!  My mom arrives Thursday night, which I’m also very excited about.  And next weekend will be nuts.  But I cannot wait to get settled into our new home and make it our own.

What I miss:  Running alone ;-).  Well, let me rephrase this with running without a little person inside of me.  Everything else I do during the day is fine and it’s fun having him along for the ride, except running.  I can’t wait to get back out there and maybe train for a 10K.  Now if only I can find the time.  I’m sure I’ll have a TON of it while balancing a newborn, household chores, and going back to work.

Next appt:  This upcoming Friday, which will be more like a 24/25 week check-up.  I’m really excited my mom gets to come along for this one and see her Grandson on the big screen.  Should be fun!!

Not sure if I’ll be be back with a 25 week update.  That will be completely dependent on the status of our unpacking and our WiFi.  If not, I’m sure I’ll have LOTS to talk about at 26 weeks, including a home tour (hopefully)!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 24 Weeks – 6 Months!

  1. Lee says:

    So exciting that you’re moving on Saturday!! When we moved getting our internet up was like my first order of business. I have issues!

Leave a Reply

