22 Weeks

How far along: 22 weeks!

22 Weeks

How big is baby:  Baby boy is a papaya this week ranging anywhere from 10.5- 11.8 inches long and 12.7-20.8 ounces in weight.  I have a feeling he’s on the higher range of these scales.  He’s now able to hear outside noise from inside the womb.  Guess I better start playing him some Mozart (or Led Zeppelin). Nipple are sprouting and his face is fully formed.  Fingers crossed for daddy’s cute button nose.  And, baby’s starting to settle into sleep cycles, snoozing about 12 to 14 hours a day.

Total weight gain:  Not sure.  Won’t know this exactly until at least 2-3 more weeks.

Maternity clothes/pregnancy items bought:  We didn’t buy any new maternity items this week, but we did get an adorable baby gift!  I reconnected with an old high school friend who moved down here with her husband.  They had us over for dinner and bought our little boy the sweetest outfit and onesie from Carter’s.  I would take a picture of it, but JP put it with the baby stuff and lord know I have no clue what that means.

We also finally bought ourselves a couch!  I was at Costco on Friday with my coworker when I saw a really nice sectional for sale.  I couldn’t believe how great the prices was so I brought JP back on Saturday.  We had been on the hunt for a new sectional for the past few months and nearly bought one off of Craigslist.  But when our house almost fell through, we backed out.  Since then we couldn’t find anything half as nice until now.  Costco held the couch for us and we went back this morning with a uhaul to squeeze it into our overflowing apartment.   Literally, we are OVERFLOWING.

Unfortunately all 3 pieces wouldn’t fit into the truck.  And with Costco being 10 miles from our house, it’s made for a busy morning.

Couch

Not to mention that I can’t help lift anything.  I did help with a smaller piece but immediately regretted the decision and kicked back with my feet up while JP has done everything else since.  I feel kind of bad…sort of lol.

Sleep:  Great as always.  However JP got none this week while working on his grant.  And finally when the poor guy lies down at 3am between Wednesday night and Thursday morning we are awakened by the blaring firing alarm.  It was beyond startling!  JP shot out of bed and ran through the apartment thinking something was on fire while Remy and I were frozen in shock.  We realized quickly that the building alarms were going off too.  We proceeded to evacuate with Remy and finally got the go ahead from the firemen that we all could go back to bed around 3:30 am.  So yeah, that was a blast.  Just 3 more weeks of communal living left!

Best moment of the week: This will sound rather vain but I must say still squeezing into my skinny jeans for “Jeans Friday” at work was exciting.  I hadn’t put those babies on in months.  I got brave Friday morning and decided to give it a go!

Voila!

Skinny Jeans
Granted they look like this from the front…

Jeans Front

But I’ll take it!  Who knows when I’ll get back into them for real after baby but for now I’ll enjoy this little victory.

Food cravings:  Pizza struck again this week.  A new pizza place has been in the works in Morningside Village right by our place and my friend Lee mentioned that it would be opening Thursday.  It’s called Timone’s and supposedly the owner is from Long Island.  He also owns the very successful Rosebud and Family Dog.  JP and I thought it would be a fun date night to check it out on Saturday.  I mean, the menu has baked clams and garlic knots.  You don’t see these two items often outside of New York.  We were sold!

The restaurant is definitely still working out its kinks and service was slow since the place was PACKED but we were comped our pizza since it took forever which we thought was more than fair!  The chef also sent out an order of free baked clams to our table which I proceeded to devour in its entirely.  Since baked clams aren’t common here, no one was ordering them.  Their loss, my gain.   They pride themselves on the pizza dough, but in my opinion the pizzas are too dough heavy and not crisp enough.  JP pointed out to try the sauce alone.  The sauce is uh-mazing but gets lost in the crust.  I would totally come back here again, but think there are improvements to be made.

The chef came over to ask how we were doing and we got into talking about Long Island.  Turns out the dude grew up just blocks away from me!  We bonded over Port Jeff and Mario’s.  He then gave us his card and told us to reach out to him whenever we planned on dining at one of his restaurants.  Ya see, it pays to be from Strong Island!

Food aversions:  Absolutely none!

Symptoms:  I finally experienced a new one this week…swelling and cankles.  They lasted for all of 10 minutes because I had been sitting for too long and disappeared rather quickly.  Thank god because that ain’t an attractive look even if Kim K made it popular:

Movement:  He’s still bouncing around subtly in there.  No crazy movements, but little flutters and pokes throughout the day.

Exercise: Still getting my workouts in.  They’ve been consisting of walk/jogs, weight lifting, my exercise dvds, and of course walking with my favorite girl!!

Remy

What I’m looking forward to:  I’m finally getting excited to move into our new house in a few short weeks!  There’s something about buying the couch that made it feel all the more real.

What I miss:  This week I’ve definitely missed sleeping on my belly.  And wine.  Definitely missing the vino.  At dinner with our friends on Friday they were drinking tons of good wine and damn, it looked good.  Soon enough!

Next appt:  August 16th when my mom is here visiting!  She’ll get to see an ultrasound as well.  Super excited for that!

And that’s about all that’s new with me this week.  Hope y’all are having a great weekend!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 22 Weeks

  1. Pingback: 24 Weeks – 6 Months! | Heading Down South

Leave a Reply

