16 Weeks and Still Not Home Owners :-(

How far along:  16 weeks

iphone photos June 2013 019

I was puppy photobombed!  For some reason I feel smaller this week than I did last week.  Maybe the pumpkin has readjusted itself?

iphone photos June 2013 018

How big is baby:  This week I have a baby avocado.  Appropriate since I’m just starting to like eating them again.  It’s 4.6 inches long.  Eyebrows, lashes and hair are starting to fill in, and taste buds are forming.  I have a feeling this baby will be born with a full head of curly hair like its mama.  Sorry kid, I apologize in advance for the Jew curls and frizz in this southern humidity.

Total weight gain:  I’ll find out more tomorrow morning at my 16 week OB appt.

Maternity clothes:  Still living in summer dresses and no maternity clothes yet.  Last night I attempted to wear my shorts out to a bar to watch the Bruins play and that might not be happening again.  I use the rubberband trick to tie them but I can barely get the zipper up anymore.  At least they fit everywhere else, right?

Sleep:  My sleep has been great!  I hit the pillow at night and I’m out.  I have been having crazy, vivid dreams that feel so unbelievably real.  Other than that, pretty  normal.  If anything, I’d like to sleep in a bit more but puppy doesn’t get the weekend memo at 6:30am.  Thank god she’s cute, thank god she’s cute…

Best moment of the week: I was really excited to write that it would be closing on our first home on Friday.  Turns out Wednesday night the sellers backed out of the deal 2 days before close.  Pretty heartbreaking since this home was perfect for us.  It’s a looooong story as to why they did but they’re about to face a lawsuit from our brokers and their brokers and we’re stuck scrambling for a place to live once our lease runs up in August.  Fun stuff!  In the end it’s just a house and as long as the baby is healthy we’ll be ok.  Doesn’t make it any less disappointing though.

So I guess I’ll use my old standby…pool time.

iphone photos June 2013 022

And date night to watch the B’s win game 2.

iphone photos June 2013 026

Mocktail for me and Dark & Stormy for him.

Food cravings:  Nothing unusual this week.  On Monday I indulged in a ridiculous egg and cheese sandwich from Highland Bakery with my coworkers Ashleigh and Lindsey.

iphone photos June 2013 007

Egg whites and cheddar on jalapeno focaccia bread with hot sauce and ketchup (ketchup’s a must Gill)!  This was a monster sandwich and only half made it down.  It was greasy but so worth it.

And I was doing fine forgetting about my lox obsession until I got this picture from Lauren (who’s an amazingly talented newborn/family photographer btw so if you live on Long Island, get on it).

iphone photos June 2013 024

Damn you Laur!!!  She sent me this as I was making myself a salad for lunch.  Guess how great that salad tasted after looking at this pic in all its glory.  It’s ok, I love you anyway!!

Food aversions:  If it’s food, I’ll eat it!

Symptoms:  I’ve been feeling great this week!  Some very subtle cramping at times, but otherwise feeling full of energy and back to my usual self.

Movement:  Nada still.  Sometimes I catch myself sitting ridiculously still and holding my breath to see if I can feel anything.  Just so you, that doesn’t work.  And to anyone who’s caught me in the act of doing this, I apologize.

Gender:  I’m pretty torn on this right now.  I was convinced my other friend Lauren up in Boston was having a girl and she just gave birth to the most adorable baby boy Friday night.  Congrats Lauren!!  This has made me question my instincts.  Maybe we will have another little princess to rival this cutie.

iphone photos May 2013 058

Exercise: I’m back to usual with daily lunchtime walks and weight lifting scattered throughout the week.  I feel so much better when I’m in a workout routine.  It gives me more energy throughout the day as well.  Fitness has been a big part of my life for years and I think being back in the swing of things has been making me feel like my old self even more than the year leading up to pregnancy.

What I’m looking forward to:  On Friday we drive up to NY and we’ll have a week to spend with family and friends, including a 3 day trip up to New England.  I’ve been looking forward to this week for a while despite the 15 hour drive each way!

And hopefully I’ll get in a jog with this crazy girl.

Heather's iphone 240

Heather's iphone 092

She’ll have to take it slow for Ms. Preggo but we always have the best time on our runs!!  I think we planned out my wedding morning run for YEARS haha.

What I miss:  Aside from the house debacle, I’m feeling really happy with where I’m at right now and not missing much at all.  Ok, that’s a lie…after having to go through the motions of closing on our house and having the sellers no show I could’ve REALLY gone for a glass of wine.  Instead I channeled my emotions in another healthy way…froyo.

Next appt:  Tomorrow morning, bright and early.  And we might be able to find out the sex!  Let’s hope the lil munchkin cooperates and spreads its legs.

We’ll be travling a lot over the next 2 weeks so I’ll probably do a big week 17 and 18 recap all at once.  And for any friends and family reading up north…I cannot wait to see you!!! xoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 16 Weeks and Still Not Home Owners :-(

  1. lauren says:

    Awww…. I LOVE that I made the post and my photo was featured! lmao. I’m sorry to hear about the house falling through. But they always say… everything happens for a reason. So, I’m sure it will all be better in the long run (although it’s added pressure and a headache at the moment). LOTS of LOVE!!! xoxo

    • pspring55 says:

      Yeah, it stinks about the home! We’re pretty disappointed but relieved it’s only bad news about a home and not about the baby. Can’t wait to see you in a little over a week!!!

  2. Melissa says:

    I’m just playing catch up on this blog – when you will be around??

Leave a Reply

