Apartment Hunting

With just 2 months left until the big move, JP and I figured we should find a place to live.  We planned a long weekend down in Atlanta with LOTS of apartment viewings and some good meals sandwiched in between.  We used a service called Promove that I can’t recommend enough.  They lined up all of our viewings and mapped out the best route to get to each of them.

We stayed at a cute boutique hotel called The Artmore in Midtown.

artmore

It was in a great location and very affordable.  I think the hotel’s biggest selling point was its courtyard.  You can sit outside and enjoy a drink (or two) and at night they have the fire pit going.

courtyard

Ok, back to the apartment.  We looked at a total of 8 or 9 places.  At this point I can’t even remember.  There were several that impressed us, but in the end we wanted to be as close to Emory, where JP will be working, as possible so to avoid getting a second car.

It didn’t hurt that the winning apartment had this…

Pool

And this is just 1 of 3 pools in the complex.  Now all apartment complex in Atlanta have pools, but this was by far the nicest and we’ll be living very close to it.

Some apartment highlights…

The neighborhood which doesn’t feel like an apartment complex at all!

Perfect for walking Remy 🙂

Balcony (perfect for that glider we’ve always wanted?)

balcony

What our view will look like

viewVery happy it won’t be a parking lot or into someone’s apartment, although I guess the nosy person that I am would kind of enjoy that ;-).

And some of the inside…

Kitchen

kitchen

Nice and open so that I can cook and watch housewives at the same time 🙂

Two bedrooms with nice big windows, bathrooms, and walk-in closets.

I’ll be sure to post more pictures once we make the place our own.

Some other highlights from the trip:

A long lost love

Some grits with hot sauce

Piedmont Park

Nighttime stroll through Atlanta

A new food shopping love

And of course making new friends!

We can’t wait to go back and make Atlanta home, but next time we plan on taking this girl with us.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Apartment Hunting

  1. Jessica says:

    Randomly found your blog..I live in Atlanta and recently started working at Emory (Public Health School)! Just wanted to stop by and say Hello! I just finished the apartment hunt as well, so I know where that beautiful pool is 🙂 — I actually almost lived there.

  2. pspring55 says:

    Hi Jessica! I’m a little nervous about the apartment complex being swarmed with a million undergrads, but we couldn’t beat the proximity to Emory for my husband’s commute. We move down officially over Labor Day weekend and I will keep updating the blog more as the date nears. You’ll have to stay in touch! 🙂

  3. Publix is the BEST! You must try their sub sandwiches. And their hummus. Basically anything Publix brand is amazing.

    • pspring55 says:

      I’ve been to Publix before since my Grandparents live in Florida and have always remembered loving it. So far I’ve only been to Kroeger and the Dekalb Farmer’s Market (which is insane). Good to know about Publix hummus though since I definitely consider hummus a food group in my diet. Definitey not kidding about that!

Leave a Reply

